Sailing ocean

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Sailing ocean

Post by Ann on Sat Jul 29, 2017 2:18 pm

Has anybody ever looked into it?

I'm no professional and just had a quick runthrough but I've seen that the world record for a America-England sailing of a supposed 5330km is 4days ish.
When a Portugal-Guiana world record for a supposed 6100km is an astonishing 48 days with a 5 members crew.

The difference looks massiv but with a watch at a flat map it makes more sense.

Another thing with the southern crossing of ocean is that they must follow 'traditional' routes that takes an incredible amount of time for the supposed nautical miles they cross and use the northern part of the 'south emisphere'. The other ones get hit by waves or pirates but end up not making it.

https://ww w.seabreeze.com.au/News/Cruising/British-sailors-missing-at-sea-between-South-Africa-and-Australia_5220074 .aspx
This couple headed south from south africa and got lost, most likely hit by pirates.
Starting to feel like piracy is the way the governments use to don't let us head south without getting directly involved.

I might have jumped to conclusion but I thought it would be worth noticing so somebody can do extended research on it.
If anybody ever covered the subject please link it to me (:

EDIT: Check out John Beeden Pacific row crossing with an mindblowing 209 days for 7miles of water.
Quick maths says it's about 1mile per hour or 4 times slower than the average walking pace.
He said he was rowing an average of 15hours per day and yet went 4 times slower than you walking to the grocerie shop when you can picture the waves giveing him momentum and boost of speed and him rowing for over half a day.
A flat map would obviously explain the whole thing with him being way quicker than that but the expected distance being much greater.
Once again I know close to nothing about rowing/sailing and might be completely wrong.